Everything you need to know about upcoming elections in Luton and Houghton Regis

Voters go to the polls on Thursday, May 6, to elect a new Bedfordshire Police and Crime Commissioner - as well as several local by-elections.

Tuesday, 4th May 2021, 5:20 pm
Updated Tuesday, 4th May 2021, 5:22 pm
Everything you need to know about local elections coming up in Luton and Houghton Regis on May 6

There are two by-elections for Luton Borough Council and two by-elections for Houghton Regis Town Council.

The Luton vacancies follow the resignations of Labour councillors Rachel Hopkins and Mark Rivers.

Former councillor Hopkins was elected as Luton South MP at the 2019 general election.

The High Town ward vacancy should have been contested last May, but local elections were postponed because of the coronavirus pandemic.

Councillor Rivers resigned his Round Green seat earlier this year after moving to Scotland.

Five candidates each will be on the ballot papers for both wards being contested in Luton.

In High Town, they are Umme Ali standing for the Labour Party, Lyn Bliss of the Green Party, Markus Keaney representing the Communist Party of Britain, Shakaina Khan for the Conservative Party and Nigel Marshall of the Liberal Democrat Focus Team.

In Round Green, Fatima Begum is the Labour Party candidate, James Cullinane is standing for the Green Party, Steve Moore represents the Liberal Democrat Focus Team, Marc Scheimann is an Independent, and Phil Turner contests the seat for the Conservative Party.

Only Labour and the Liberal Democrats are contesting the Parkside and Tithe Farm vacancies in Houghton Regis.

Rigerta Ahmetaj represents the Labour Party in Parkside, with Elaine Cooper standing for the Liberal Democrats.

Brendan Gilmartin contests Tithe Farm for the Liberal Democrats against Chris Slough for the Labour Party.

Bedfordshire residents get the chance to appoint a new Police and Crime Commissioner for the county, with current PCC Kathryn Holloway stepping down from the role.

The PCC's duties include ensuring the county police force is run efficiently and effectively, and being responsible for a budget raised from the local policing precept via council tax bills.

She was due to leave 12 months ago, but was invited to stay on for another year as the election was cancelled because of Covid-19.

Attempting to succeed her on a Conservative Party ticket is businessman Festus Akinbusoye, while Central Bedfordshire Tithe Farm councillor Pat Hamill is standing as an independent candidate, and former detective chief inspector David Michael is hoping to gain the post for the Labour Party.

Jas Parmar contests the election for the Liberal Democrats, and Antonio Vitiello represents the English Democrats.

Polls will be open between 7am and 10pm on Thursday, May 6. The ballot papers will be counted and the results announced on Friday, May 7.