Dunstable Town CC are crowned champions once more

Dunstable Town retained their Bedfordshire County League Premier Division title after becoming champions for second successive season with a seven wicket win over Langford on Sunday.

Thursday, 18th August 2016, 10:00 am
Updated Thursday, 25th August 2016, 7:29 pm

Ian Gilbert and Sam Cherry took two wickets each as Langford were bowled out for just 164, while Jonny Rice hit 54 as Dunstable as they reached 168-3.

The IIs plunged 46 points from safety on Sunday after they lost by 62 runs to Cople.

The visitors racked up 264-7 as Andy Watts claimed three wickets, while Dunstable fell to 202 all out, as Steve Rumball hit 64, and Richard Kilduff made 42.

The IIIs were bowled out for just 85 by table-topping Harrold in Division Three as the leaders eased to 89-2.

On Saturday, Dunstable earned a crucial win in the Saracens Herts League Championship league reverted back to its 50 overs format.

Sam Cherry (87) and Jonny Rice (79) shared a stand of 166 for the third wicket, while Mohammed Essa also added 23 to take Dunstable to 268-9.

In reply, Hemel Hempstead were dismissed for 206, as Jack Kilduff picking up 3-42 with Cherry and Mike Alston taking two apiece.

The IIs dropped out of a promotion spot in Division Four B for the first time this season after they lost to Langleybury.

Stand-in captain Ian Gilbert top scored with 60 and Jason Strong added 23, but the hosts were out for just 148.

Opening bowler Joe Thorne did his best to defend Dunstable’s minimal target, but Langleybury reached 151-5 to claim a five-wicket win.

Hemel IVs conceded to give the IIIs 30 points, while the IVs got their first win in nine attempts after they smashed 221-3 in their 40 overs against Grafham.

Opener Ian Horton carried his bat for 83, while Dean Woods added 50 and Ben Adamson 38. Dunstable then dismissed their hosts for 177 as Horton took 3-16 and Adam Stearn 2-20, ensuring a 44-run victory.