Serwar takes five as Lutonian prove too strong for Flitwick

Lutonian were 49-run winners over visitors Flitwick in their Bedfordshire County League Premier Division match on Sunday.

Wednesday, 6th July 2016, 9:46 am
Updated Wednesday, 6th July 2016, 10:51 am
Lutonian batsman Zaheer Khan in action against Flitwick on Sunday

The hosts won the toss and elected to bat first, posting 232-7 from 45 overs.

Hamid Riaz top-scored with 64, including eight fours and one six, while Zaheer Khan (41), Sulieman Mohammed (37) and Mahmood Ali (24) all contributed too.

In their reply, Flitwick were bowled out for 183 as Ehtasham Serwar claimed 5-29, while Umer Masood picked up 2-24 and had a hand in a run out as well.

In Division one, Lutonian IIs recorded a 93-run triumph over Ickleford.

Ammad Saeed hit 74 as Lutonian reached 250-9, while Ahmed Israr scored 57 and Abdul Malik an unbeaten 50.

Ickleford were then dismissed for 157 as Lutonian took the victory.

Lutonian were handed a walkover win in their Bedfordshire Invitation Saturday League Division One clash at Lower Wardown Park as Langford conceded.

The IIs eased past Biggleswade IIs by 61 runs in Division Three to maintain their 100 per cent record.

The match was reduced to 29 overs a side due to the weather, plus a knee injury suffered by Biggleswade bowler Adam Giddings.

After being put into bat, Lutonian made 160-7, thanks to Mahboob Baig (25), Assan Shaukat (19), Yasir Yakoob (23) and Yaseer (28no).

In response, Biggleswade were restricted to 99-5, with wickets shared between Mir Khobeab (1-3), Ehtasham Serwar (1-7), Mahboob Baig (1-9), Raja Ahmed (1-15) and Yasir Yakoob (1-22).

The club also played a tour match against Cricket Academy from India, winning by five wickets in a close contest.

The Academy reached 181-9 thanks to Sachin Wagh (81) and Subash Sarmalkar (20). while Ali Hassan claimed 4-10, Asif Khan took 3-10 and Ehtasham Serwar 2-20.

Lutonian then made 182-5 with just two balls remaining as Sajjad Homyoon top-scored with 50, while Ali Hassan (27), Asif Khan (16) and Ammad Saeed (16) contributed too.