Celebration night for Saturday football stars

THE Luton District & South Beds Football League honoured the stars of last season at their annual presentation night last Monday.

Monday, 11th July 2011, 9:04 am

The Bob Taylor Shield was won by Offley Social’s Mark Doran for being the league’s top goalscorer.

Four Model FC claimed the Houghton Regis Award for achievement outside of the league, after their website received a considerable amount of sponsorship in their first season.

John McLoughlin won the club assistant referee award while the Tony Bullman Referee Award went to Tom Welsh.

The Ken Kilby Memorial Shield was received by Square FC’s Andy Foster for most improved team, while Richard Everitt of the 61FC snared the the Tony Gatward Award for best secretary.

Matt Copeland of Luton Leagrave won the Bryan Setchell Memorial Trophy for best discipline and the Mann Broadbent Award for services to the league went to the 61FC who are celebrating their 50th anniversary.

Meanwhile, the Chairman’s Award for best overall team was picked up by Andy Smith of Real F&E who won the treble of the Premier Division title, the William Pease Cup and Champions League.