Dunstable Town crowned league champions

Dunstable Town won the Molten Spartan SML Premier Division title by beating Haringey Borough 2-1 at Creasey Park last night.

By The Newsroom
Wednesday, 10th April 2013, 10:08 am

With four games still to go, the Blues have done so in style with 33 wins and five draws from their 38 games to date.

For a long time, visitors Haringey ignored the script and pushed their hosts all the way, especially in the second half.

Dunstable began strongly as Tony Fontanelle saw his shot hit the foot of the post and bounce up to the underside of the bar, while Lee Roache headed just over in the next attack.

Haringey were adept at the swift counter move and had their chances, but with four minutes of the half remaining, Dunstable’s pressure finally brought reward as a cross from the right was converted by Tony Burnett.

The second half saw a resurgent Borough seize the initiative and their eager forward play deserved the equaliser which was converted by Anthony McDonald on 53 minutes.

The rest of the half saw some frantic play producing worthwhile opportunities for both sides.

Dunstable, usually deadly with set pieces, conspired to waste two such chances and the winning goal did not come until the 77th minute when Wayne Mills’ corner was headed home by Marc Leach.

There were plenty of nervous moments, with Lee Roache though on goal, but he hit the post, while Blues keeper Paul Taylor made a fine save as Haringey pushed for an equaliser.

Town held on though to ensure the title and with it promotion.

Dunstable: Taylor, Mills, Mead, Leach, Buchanan, Carney, Olaleye, Cashman, Roache, Burnett, Fontanelle (Frater).

Subs not used: Jackson, Pickering , Hutchins, Head.