Blues go out of the Trophy

editorial image

FA Trophy first qualifying round: Whyteleafe 3 Dunstable Town 1

Dunstable Town slipped to a fourth straight defeat as they were knocked out of the FA Trophy by Ryman League Division One South wide Whyteleafe on Saturday.

The visitors were missing the injured Adam Watkins, Lee Roache, Ben Herd and Steven Gregory, while Tony Burnett was cup-tied and Chris Marsh suspended.

Former Luton Town goalkeeper Nathan Abbey was given his debut, with youth teamers Mark Reilly and Kai Gardner on the bench and coach Tony Fontanelle drafted in as full-back.

The visitors started brightly and had the lead after just two minutes as Fontanelle made a sprightly run on the right, before Gary Mulligan, Terry Dixon, David Hutton and Warren Plowright combined for Scott Davies to head home.

Whyteleafe hit back well as Roscoe Dsane, Bentley Graham, Greg Andrews and Sam Clayton all coming close, but Dunstable were they awarded a dubious penalty when Fontanelle was fouled in the area.

However, Charlie Henry saw his spot kick saved by Sheikh Ceesay as the hosts then grew in confidence.

They were on level terms after 26 minutes when Abbey’s goal kick went straight to Greg Andrews who fired home at the second attempt.

Dunstable threatened again as Henry’s header was palmed away by Ceesay, but they fell behind five minutes after the break as Jason Thompson’s cross was headed in by Tommy Smith.

Town toiled away times for an equaliser and almost had one when Hutton’s free kick drew a superb save by Ceesay.

Abbey made a good stop to keep it at 2-1, while Fontanelle and Davies went off injured, while Arel Amu replaced Mulligan.

Leafe then went further in front on 70 minutes through Roscoe Dsane to progress to the next round.

Whyteleafe: Ceesay, Kenlock (Merchant), Simpson, Patterson-Bohner, Smith, Thompson (C), Fowler, Clayton, Dsane, Andrews, Graham.

Subs not used: Thomson, Lyle, Penfold.

Dunstable: Abbey, Fontanelle (Ruddick), Plowright, Beasant, Blackett (C), Davies (Gardner), May, Henry, Mulligan (Amu), Dixon, Hutton.

Subs not used: Chambers, Reilly.