Blues into play-offs after Stratford victory

Dunstable Town's David Keenleyside in action
Dunstable Town's David Keenleyside in action

Evo-Stik Southern League Premier Division: Dunstable Town 3 Stratford Town 1

Dunstable Town moved into the Southern League Premier Division play-offs with a comfortable victory over Stratford Town at Creasey Park on Tuesday night.

The hosts were forced into one change, with Steve Wales in for Chris Vardy, while Stratford had ex-Luton and Dunstable defender Anthony Charles within their ranks.

It was Stratford who threatened first when Dior Angus fired wide, but the Blues hit back as Connor Calcutt set up Adam Watkins for a stylish opening strike on 33 minutes.

Dunstable then upped the pressure as Zack Reynolds’ mazy run saw Calcutt fire over the top, while Watkins followed suit moments later, with David Keenleyside off target too.

In the second period, the visitors were reduced to 10 men when Jack Roberts was dismissed after bringing down Danny Talbot in the area on 67 minutes, with the midfielder stepping up to convert the spot kick.

Stratford sent a corner against the bar, before Dunstable went in search of a third, Talbot finding sub Gary Wharton who brought a fine save out of keeper Andy Kemp.

However, Stratford kept up their efforts, as sub Emmit Delfoeneso hit the foot of the post and the follow-up from Tyrone Fagan was tipped over the bar by Jamie Head.

The Blues then did make it 3-0 with three minutes to go, in some style too, as Wharton’s superb solo run and finish gave Kemp no chance.

Stratford persevered and had a consolation in the final minutes as a cross rebounded off the bar for Fagan to convert.

There were no further scares though as Dunstable made it seven games unbeaten and leapfrogged Hitchin Town into the final play-off spot.

This weekend, Blues travel to Cambridge City.

Dunstable: Jamie Head, Zack Reynolds, Howard Hall, Danny Talbot, James Kaloczi ©, Adam Pepera, Adam Watkins, Steve Wales, Connor Calcutt (Lee Roache 63), Steven Gregory, David Keenelyside (Gary Wharton 72).

Subs not used: Luke Pennell, Gedeon Okito.

Stratford: Andy Kemp, Gary Moran (C), Kieran Westwood, Jack Roberts, Liam Francis, Anthony Charles, Simeon Tulloch, Michael McGrath, Dior Angus (Emmit Delfoeneso), Edwin Ahenkoran (Tyrone Fagan), Jamie Sheldon.

Subs not used: Richard Gregory, Charlie Faulkner, Alex Price.

Attendance: 101.