Hatters top scorer Collins called up by Ireland for World Cup qualifiers

James Collins celebrates scoring for IrelandJames Collins celebrates scoring for Ireland
James Collins celebrates scoring for Ireland
Striker named in Stephen Kenny's squad

Luton striker James Collins has been named in the Republic of Ireland squad for their matches against Serbia, Luxembourg and Qatar later this month.

The 30-year-old will be looking to add to his six senior caps when he joins up with his team-mates on Sunday in Manchester, ahead of the trip to Belgrade to take on the Serbs in World Cup Qualifying Group A next Wednesday.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

They then return to Dublin to host Luxembourg in a qualifier at the Aviva Stadium the following Saturday, before travelling to Hungary to play against Qatar in a friendly on Tuesday, March 30.

Collins had not featured in Stephen Kenny's first few squads following the former U21 boss replacing Mick McCarthy as senior manager, until a recall in November last term, playing in both Nations League clashes against Wales and Bulgaria.

He will be looking to add to his one previous goal for his country, who are currently on a lengthy run of seven international matches without scoring.

Irish squad

Goalkeepers: Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool), Gavin Bazunu (Rochdale, on loan from Manchester City), Mark Travers (AFC Bournemouth), Kieran O'Hara (Burton Albion).

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Matt Doherty (Tottenham Hotspur), Shane Duffy (Celtic, on loan from Brighton and Hove Albion), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United), Kevin Long (Burnley), Ciaran Clark (Newcastle United), Dara O'Shea (West Bromwich Albion), Ryan Manning (Swansea City), Cyrus Christie (Nottingham Forest).

Midfielders: Conor Hourihane (Swansea City, on loan from Aston Villa), Alan Browne (Preston North End), Jeff Hendrick (Newcastle United), Jayson Molumby (Preston North End, on loan from Brighton and Hove Albion), Jason Knight (Derby County), Josh Cullen (Anderlecht).

Wingers: Robbie Brady (Burnley), James McClean (Stoke City), Daryl Horgan (Wycombe Wanderers), Ronan Curtis (Portsmouth), Callum O'Dowda (Bristol City).

Strikers: Callum Robinson (West Bromwich Albion), Aaron Connolly (Brighton and Hove Albion), Shane Long (AFC Bournemouth, on loan from Southampton), James Collins (Luton Town), Troy Parrott (Ipswich Town, on loan from Tottenham Hotspur).