Pollock races to record win in John O'Callaghan 5m event

The first race in the Luton AC Summer Series took place recently, the John O'Callaghan 5mile, a two lap course through the grounds of Luton Hoo.

Saturday, 9th July 2016, 1:00 pm
Top three: (l-r) Darren Deed , second, Paul Pollock, winner and Peter Mackrell, third

Top local runner Darren Deed, who was looking for an incredible 15th victory in this event, must have been shocked with the appearance on the start line of Paul Pollock, one of Ireland’s top runners.

Sharpening up for the Olympic marathon in Rio this summer, Pollock pulled away from the field with Deed hanging on.

Pollock gradually drew clear to finish in a course record of 24.09mins, the second fastest time in the country this year, with Deed, 38, clocking 24.41mins.

Ladies race: (l-r) Lucy Waterlow, second, Victoria Pritchard, first and Christine Lathwell, third

An isolated Peter Mackrell of Leighton Buzzard AC led home the rest of the field four minutes behind the winner.

In the ladies race, Victoria Pritchard of Shaftesbury Barnet Harriers won decisively in 29.29mins from Lucy Waterlow of St Albans Striders (31.32mins) with Stopsley Strider’s Christine Lathwell finishing third.

Leighton Buzzard AC took the team prize, while Stephen Upton (Leighton Buzzard) won the M40 age group, with other categories going to M45, Paul Alford (Boxfit Tri), M50, Mark Cornell (Dunstable Road Runners), M55, John Chapman (Stopsley Striders), M60, David Stanley (Ampthill and Flitwick), M65, Ian Sage and M70, John Reade (Dunstable) and M75 to PJ Hough (Stopsley).

In the Ladies division the winners were F40, Sarah Halford (Boxfit Tri), F45, Ruth Grint (Dunstable), F50, Jacqueline Reid (Met Police), F55, Jaqueline Armstrong (Watford), F60, Jane Welch (Watford Joggers) and F65, Elizabeth McGinley.

Ladies race: (l-r) Lucy Waterlow, second, Victoria Pritchard, first and Christine Lathwell, third

The final race in the Series, the popular Luton 10k takes place on Sunday, July 17 starting at 11am from Venue 360 in Gipsy Lane.

Runners can either enter either online or on the day.

Results, top 50: 1, Paul Pollock (Kent AC), 24.09mins; 2, Darren Deed (Bedford & County), 24.41; 3, Peter Mackrell (Leighton Buzzard AC), 28.05; 5, Glen Turner (Leighton Buzzard AC), 28.45; 5, Billy Meade (Leighton Buzzard AC), 29.23; 6, Steven Upton (Amptill and Flitwick Flyers), 29.26; 7, Victoria Pritchard (Shaftesbury Barnet Harriers), 29.29; 8, Chris George (Leighton Buzzard AC), 29.37; 9, Lee Murphy (Dunstable Road Runners), 29.47; 10, Thomas Inchley (Leighton Buzzard AC), 29.50; 11, Sam Dear (Leighton Buzzard AC), 29.57; 12, Martin Beare (Amptill and Flitwick flyers), 30.00;

13, Paul Halford (Boxfit-Tri), 30.07; 14, Giles Shorley (Amptill and Flitwick flyers), 30.29; 15, Andrew Palombella (Bedford Harriers), 30.52; 16, Steve Brett (Andover AC), 31.02; 17, John Murphy (Dunstable Road Runners), 31.15; 18, Martin Davern, 31.23; 19, Lucy Waterlow (St Albans Striders), 31.32; 20, Craig Wilson, 31.36; 21, Mark Pedder (Dunstable Road Runners), 31.44; 22, Lyndon Moore (Dunstable Road Runners), 31.57; 23, Gez Fallon (Stopsley Striders), 32.04; 24, John Chapman (Stopsley Striders), 32.12; 25, Adrian Copp (Stopsley Striders), 32.19; 27, Keith Hammond, 32.42; 28, Liam Hoare (Dunstable Road Runners), 32.56; 29, Martin Brooks (Stevenage Striders), 33.31; 30, Mark Cornell (Dunstable Road Runners), 33.47; 31, Pat Blessing (Stopsley Striders), 33.48; 32, Sarah Halford (Boxfit-Tri), 33.58; 33, David Coker (Ampthill and Flitwick flyers), 33.59; 34, Keith Mclellan (Luton Athletics Club), 34.00; 35, Johanna Sharples (Leighton Buzzard AC), 34.13; 36, Stuart Dimmock (Leighton Buzzard AC), 34.27; 37, Mick Courtney (Dunstable Road Runners), 34.43; 38, David Killick (Leighton Buzzard AC), 34.47; 39, Scott Riddell (Dunstable Road Runners), 35.02; 40, David Haylett, 35.06; 41, Daniel Mann (Stopsley Striders), 35.12; 42, Paula Nicol (Boxfit-Tri), 35.16; 43, Stewart Mackay (Dunstable Road Runners), 35.35; 44, Linda Scanlan (Stopsley Striders), 35.38; 45, Elizabeth Rollinson (Stopsley Striders), 35.44; 46, Steven Kerin, 36.03; 47, Ruth Grint (Dunstable Road Runners), 36.21; 48, Michelle Morris (Amptill and Flitwick flyers), 36.32; 49, Christina Lawrence (Dunstable Road Runners), 36.43; 50, Philip Davies (Stopsley Striders), 36.55.